What are the average raw scores, and standard deviations for the WAIS-IV subtests?

How is WAIS-IV scored?

The WAIS-IV is scored by summing the raw scores for each subtest; each raw subtest score is then converted to a scaled scored (M = 10; SD = 3). To obtain each index score, the sum of scaled scores is computed for the core subtests that comprise each index and then converted to a standard score.

What do WAIS-IV scores mean?

DESCRIPTION OF WAIS-IV INDEXES. Verbal Comprehension Index. This index reflects an individual’s ability to understand, use and think with spoken language. It also demonstrates the breadth and depth of knowledge acquired from one’s environment. It measures the retrieval from long-term memory of such information.

What is the average score on the WAIS?


On the WAIS, Wechsler instead compared scores of the test-taker to those of others in his or her general age group. The average score is fixed at 100, with approximately two-thirds of all scores falling somewhere between 85 and 115.

What do each subtests for the WAIS-IV measure?

Two core subtests are used to measure the Processing Speed Index: Coding and Symbol Search; Cancellation is a supplementary subtest all three are very similar to those used in the WISC-IV, described above. As with the WISC-IV all 10 core subtests are used to measure Full Scale IQ.

How do you read WAIS scores?

A: The WAIS-IV indexes are: Verbal Comprehension Index (VCI) – reflects an individual’s ability to understand, use and think with spoken language.
Score Interpretation of WAIS IV and MMPI II.

Full Scale IQ Percentile Range Classification
120 to 129 91 to 97 Superior
110 to 119 75 to 90 High Average
90 to 109 25 to 73 Average
80 to 89 9 to 23 Low Average

How do you read Wechsler scores?

The WISC-V is actually made up of 10 subtests, yielding 5 scores, each one a summary measure of a certain ability.
WISC-V Structure.

Composite Score Range Traditional Description WISC-V Classification
110 – 119 High Average High Average
90 – 109 Average Average
80-89 Low Average Low Average
70 – 79 Borderline Very Low

What index scales are used in the WAIS Wppsi and WISC?

Like the other Wechsler Test variations, the WISC utilizes four indexes to measure the child’s cognitive abilities which include the Verbal Comprehension Index, Visual Spatial Index, Fluid Reasoning Index, Working Memory Index, and Processing Speed Index. Learn more about the Wechsler Intelligence Scale for Children.

What index scales are used in the WAIS?

The WAIS–IV is an individually administered in- telligence test for individuals between the ages of 16 and 90 years. It consists of 10 core and five supplemental subtests. Only the core subtests were administered for the current study. Four index scales (VC, PR, WM, and PS) are derived from the 10 core subtests.

What is the highest IQ score on the WAIS?


One Full Scale IQ (FSIQ) is also calculated. These scores range from the lowest (40) to the highest (160) points.

What is the difference between the WISC and the WAIS?

The WAIS-III produced a significantly higher mean Full Scale IQ score than the WISC-IV, in a sample of 16 year olds who attended special school. The difference between the mean Full Scale IQ score on the WAIS-III and the WISC-IV was 11.82 points, with the WAIS-III scoring higher.

How is WAIS-IV FSIQ calculated?

It would be the same as someone calculating the Percentile Rank from a Composite Score. It is just basic statistics. FSIQ = 25 + 0.75*S where S is the Sum of Scaled Scores.

Is the WAIS an aptitude or achievement test?

Aptitude refers to the capacity to learn, and thus aptitude tests are those designed to predict a person’s future performance. Achievement tests are designed to assess what a person has learned. The Wechsler Adult Intelligence Scale (WAIS) is the most widely used intelligence test.