A possible 6th prima facie duty (W.D. Ross)?

What are the prima facie duties according to Ross?

Ross initially identifies seven distinct prima facie duties:

  • Fidelity. We should strive to keep promises and be honest and truthful.
  • Reparation. We should make amends when we have wronged someone else.
  • Gratitude. …
  • Non-injury (or non-maleficence). …
  • Beneficence. …
  • Self-improvement. …
  • Justice.

What are the 8 prima facie duties?

In The Right and the Good, Ross lists seven prima facie duties, without claiming his list to be all-inclusive: fidelity; reparation; gratitude; justice; beneficence; non-maleficence; and self-improvement. In any given situation, any number of these prima facie duties may apply.

Who was WD Ross and what did he have to say about prima facie duties?

Ross (1877-1971), there are several prima facie duties that we can use to determine what, concretely, we ought to do. A prima facie duty is a duty that is binding (obligatory) other things equal, that is, unless it is overridden or trumped by another duty or duties.

What is WD Ross’s theory?

Elements of Ross’s Moral Theory:

A variety of relations among individuals are morally significant–including potential benefactor-potential beneficiary, promiser-promisee, creditor-debtor, wife-husband, child-parent, friend-friend, fellow countryman-fellow countryman, and others.

What is a prima facie duty quizlet?

A Prima Facie Duty is. A moral reasons to do or abstain from something ; more reason that can be outweighed by other normal reasons; a moral reason that if not outweighed, generated a moral requirement.

What is an example of prima facie?

Prima facie evidence in law is sufficient to establish the fact unless questioned. For example, when buildings are set on fire by sparks emitted from a train engine passing along the road, it is prima facie evidence of negligence on the part of the train company.

What do 7 prima facie duties mean?

CLASS. Scottish philosopher William David Ross constructed the seven prima facie duties as a basis for his ethical theory. They are a list of obligations to the self and others meant to help people live the good life and help others to do so as well.

What things are good WD Ross summary?

W. D. Ross

Ross concludes that four things can be seen to be intrinsically good—virtue, pleasure, the allocation of pleasure to the virtuous, and knowledge (and to a lesser degree right opinion).

What is prima facie principle?

The four prima facie principles are respect for autonomy, beneficence, non-maleficence, and justice. “Prima facie,” a term introduced by the English philosopher W D Ross, means that the principle is binding unless it conflicts with another moral principle – if it does we have to choose between them.

What is a prima facie duty according to Ross quizlet?

According to Ross, what is a “prima facie duty”? An excellent, nonabsolute, permanent reason to do (or refrain from) something – to keep one’s word, be grateful for kindness, avoid hurting others, and so on.

Which of the following is not a prima facie duty identified Ross quizlet?

8. Non-maleficence is not a prima facie duty identified by Ross.